Thankfulness

I don’t have a lot of time to write and quite frankly typing on my Surface keyboard is annoying, but I didn’t want to have Thanksgiving weekend pass without touching on it.

Last night I watched the HBO documentary on the Boston Marathon bombings in 2013. I don’t think I lasted 3 minutes before I was sobbing on my couch and nearly went through an entire thing of tissues by the end of the program.

It’s so easy to take so much for granted and to let little things bother you. Believe me, I am incredibly guilty of this – too much so recently.

Watching the documentary was a good reminder that there is so much to life and things that you think might ruin that life, you can and you will overcome them.

Don’t feel guilty that you are upset over something you label “insignificant” True it may not be a terminal illness or a life-altering injury, but if it bothers you, it bothers you.

Acknowledge it.

Take a step back and find something positive about it. (Are you annoyed you have a flat tire? Be thankful that your tire didn’t explode on the highway throwing you into a car wreck).

Find a way to be pro-active to not find yourself in that same situation or to be able to go into that situation with a more positive attitude. Is your “issue” a bad job? Instead of going into work hating life, go in grateful to have a job and do what you can to make it better or work toward finding a new job.

One last piece of advice is to remember to be thankful the other 11 months of the year.

 

Leave a Reply

